Sausage Anyone?

Laws are like sausages, it is better not to see them being made.
Otto von Bismarck

If you know me at all, you know I have always been a fan of sausages.  There are actually only a very few of them I do not really like.  And, I have been generally impressed with all of the new and interesting flavors that seem to have come on the scene in  the last few years.  I am such a fan, I would love to make my own sausage some day.

Sadly, having spent the last year of my life closely following the legislative process which has brought us PPACA or Health Reform, I couldn’t imagine the sausage making process could possibly be this bad.

As a country, we have spent hundreds of millions of dollars and countless hours of what could otherwise have been productive time and energy crafting a piece of legislation that very few people (including those who voted for AND against it) really understand.  Even the most ardent and vocal supporters of this law have seemed much more interested in making the law than fully understanding what was actually in it.  As more and more people become aware of what is in the law, we are now spending even more time and money identifying elements of the law that legislators now agree should never have been put into the law in the first place.

I mentioned my love for sausage and my desire to make my own some day.  But, even I don’t love sausage enough to want it so badly that I don’t care what is in it.  I do ultimately plan to eat it at some point.  If lawmakers had the same perspective about the laws they passed, we could all afford to make and enjoy more sausage.

 

Leave a Reply

